Boston-based Performance Arist Jade Sylvan to Perform at Arcosanti in July


Jade Sylvan (http://www.jadesylvan.com/) is a Boston based performer who was introduced to me virtually by Michael Gosney (Cosanti Foundation board member). She expressed interest in performing at Arcosanti as part of a trip to the Southwest US. We discussed here travelling here sometime in July.

Jade Sylvan has done talks about the Internet and the rapidly changing face of media and society. In this context she has explored what these revolutionary changes in he we see, share and discuss human reality and experiences collectively means to the modern artist as well as the modern audience.
She expressed interest in performing at Arcosanti as part of a trip to the Southwest US. We discussed here travelling here sometime in July (7-18) and arranging ,a performance here.

Currently, I am bringing this forward to get support from the community, gauge interest and also see if there is interest in having the CC set aside some funds for her travel/performance costs.

Artist Biography
Jade Sylvan is a working writer, songwriter, and performer living in Boston.  She has been a fixture in the New England independent literary scene since she moved to the East Coast in 2007.  In 2009, her first full-length collection of poetry, The Spark Singer, was published by Spuyten Duyvil Press, and her online serialized novel, Backstage at The Caribou, was picked up for publication by Ray Ontko & Co.  Since then she has performed across the country alongside such modern poetry icons as Regie Gibson and Jack McCarthy, while continuing to produce new and challenging work in a wide variety of genres.  She is a graduate of Indiana University, an amateur yogi, and a passionate preparer of home-cooked meals.

Jade Sylvan has done talks about the Internet and the rapidly changing face of media and society. In this context she has explored what these revolutionary changes in he we see, share and discuss human reality and experiences collectively means to the modern artist as well as the modern audience.

Program Proposed for Arcosanti (subject to change and/or
modification):

  • 30-45 minute set (she can go longer or shorter if needed).
    • Includes a performance from her book of poetry, The Spark Singer
    • Song or two from the album she is currently recording.
  • 15 minute break
  • 30-40 minute talk about media, art, money, and all that stuff.  Part of the talk a discussion, question and answer style. She did a talk similar to this for students at the University of Cincinnati last fall and they really enjoyed it.

——–

I asked her via email a few questions regarding what she would expect in coming here and performing:

1. What will you be presenting?
2. How long will it be?
3. Do you expect financial compensation and if so explain how?
4. Do you know any one in AZ or SW US who has experiences in
promoting these kinds of events?
5. Have you used Facebook to do promote your work?
6. What is the plans for the interactive forum?

What will you be presenting?
Since I am a poet, fiction writer, and songwriter, (and rapper), my performances are usually tailored to the specific venue.  For
instance, when I feature at poetry slams, I do poetry (obviously), when I’ve performed at prose readings I will read fiction, at music venues I perform songs, and for other venues I may do a combination of the three.  I’ve performed as my alter-ego Madame Psychosis rapping with burlesque troupes, and I’ve read everywhere from universities to house shows.  We can talk about what your audience would be most interested in.  I’ve received the most attention for poetry at this point but I am starting to focus more on music now, too.

The internet and modern media is allowing people to break out of being pigeonholed into just one artform or form of expression, and I want to seize this special point in history.  I want to be among the pioneering modern troubadours who spread art far and wide both physically and electronically.

How long will it be?
Again, this has to do with the needs of the venue.  It can be as short as 20 minutes or as long as an hour or two.

Do you expect financial compensation and if so explain how?
Again, I am flexible here.  Since I do support myself mainly through writing related projects, and I will be funding this trip myself, I do ask for some form of compensation or donation.  Places like universities and reading series and music venues that have budgets for this built in are easy, as there is an agreement of how much I will be paid before I come (anywhere from $20-$1000, depending on the place). However, at some places that do not have these budgets I have asked for donations from attendants, or taken a cut from the door.  I really just like to perform and spread art, and while I do need to eat and
get from one place to another, the money is not my main concern.  If Arconsanti has a budget to fund performances, we can talk about that as a possibility.  If not, I wouldn’t mind “passing the hat” at the end to help fund my journey.

Do you know any one in AZ or SW US who has experiences in promoting
these kinds of events?

I have a few peripheral acquaintances in the SW that I could hit up, but as this will be my first time down there, I don’t have a strong network yet.  If you would need my help promoting I could put feelers out and see what I could do.

Have you used Facebook to do promote your work?
Yes.  Facebook is one of my primary promoting tools.

What is the plans for the interactive forum?
Depending on the audience, I thought it might be fun to have a sort of round table discussion about the changing face of media and how it relates to the modern artist/musician/writer, the death of the 20th century media structure and the rise of the independent artist.  This could also have implications for some of what we were talking about with Arcosanti.

Leave a Reply

